PALANCAR - Enlightenment

Palancar - Enlightenment COVER



01 Whales Face the Holy Land
02 Graffiti Sutra
03 Reawakening, Rebirth
04 City in the Sky
05 Holding Her in the Morning Light
06 Beneath Abstraction
07 The Place We Have Forgotten

Darrell Burgan is a prolific artist hailing from Texas who releases electronic ambient music under the project name Palancar. He is also the founder and owner of internet radio station StillStream, commercial record label Blue Water Records, electronic soundware vendor Spirit Canyon Audio, and is a member of ambient groups Copal River and Cluster Balm. Finally, he is also the founder and owner of Earth Mantra Netlabel.

Darrell has been active in the electronic and ambient music communities since the late 1990's, having released a number of electronic new age albums during the period 1997-2000. Somewhere along the way, Darrell discovered ambient music's limitless possibilities and turned his full attention to making music in this genre.

Since then, Darrell has released a large number of ambient albums. A good number of his albums are studio-based, but Darrell has a particular fondness for live performance. Indeed, since about 2004, Darrell's primary canvas has been the live improvisational ambient format he calls the "Ambient Train Wreck". Darrell has released several commercial albums through his online label Blue Water Records, but since 2007 has focused completely on Creative Commons releases through his netlabel Earth Mantra.

In addition to his solo music, Darrell releases music as part of Copal River, an ambient band with fellow Earth Mantra artist Scott Turner of Not Your Average Hippy fame, and with Cluster Balm, an ambient trio composed of Scott Turner, Darrell, and electronic maestro Jason Philip. He has also recently released a collaboration with John Lewis of FootFall here on Earth Mantra. Darrell loves to collaborate just as much as he loves to work solo, and has numerous collaborations in the works with many other great artists.

This CD marks the debut release by Palancar on the Dark Duck Records label. We have always been impressed by the depth of talent that Darrell expresses and we are pleased to feature this release on our label. Several years in the making, this CD showcases the vast skill that Darrell posseses behind the keyboard. There is a fair amount of soul searching going on here and Darrell really lets his guard down with this deeply personal statment. HIGHLY Recommended here at DDR.

©2009 Dark Duck Records (DDR #219)




©2016 Dark Duck Records. All rights reserved.